History of Asahido

Meiji 3[1870]

Kunijun Azai receives the title “Asahi (morning sun)” from Prince Yamashina, and founds “Asahido” on the street leading up to Kiyomizu Temple to sell Kiyomizu ware.Asahido becomes an official purveyor to the Imperial Family
of Japan.

Year Unknown

Asahido opens a Tokyo branch in Nihonbashi Kakigara-cho (Chuo Ward).

Taisho 12[1923]

On September 1, the Tokyo Branch is destroyed in the Great Tokyo Earthquake, and closes.On September 2, Kunijun Azai passes away.His eldest son Kunimichi becomes the head of operations.

Showa 2[1927]

On 14 February, Kunimichi Azai passes away and is succeeded by Kunijun’s second son, Kuniyoshi (16 years old).

Showa 3[1928]

Enthronement of Emperor Showa

Showa 14[1939]

Kuniyoshi is granted an audience with Prince Kan’in Kotohito at Kyoto Imperial Palace.

Showa 16[1941]

The attack on Pearl Harbor begins the war in the Pacific.

Showa 20[1945]

Japan accepts the Potsdam Declaration, the terms for unconditional surrender, and the war comes to an end.

Showa 32[1957]

On August 28, fire breaks out before dawn due to an electrical fault and Asahido Honten is burnt to the ground.

Showa 33[1958]

Asahido Honten is rebuilt (two stories, one basement).

Showa 35[1960]

Asahido is incorporated and established as Asahido Co., Ltd.

Showa 44[1969]

Asahido Honten is rebuilt by Takenaka Corporation

Giant Leap Forward triggered by the Group Tour Boom and Expo ’70

From around 1965, riding the group tour boom, we started working with Nippon Travel Agency to cater to the huge influx of tourists. In preparation for Expo ’70, which was to be held in Osaka, we renovated the group tour
dining room on the second floor of Asahido Honten and served 2,000 meals a day.As the area surrounding Kiyomizu Temple was a “must see” place in Kyoto, we created a facility where people can dine, drink, shop and
experience making things, which quickly became popular among the many Japanese tourists.

Showa 45[1970]

Expo’70 held in Osaka.

Showa 54[1979]

Asahido Honten is rebuilt again, and retains this basic form even today.

Showa 63[1988]

Saryo Seihantei (restaurant) is opened as part of the Asahi Touan business.

Heisei 10[1998]

Saryo Seihantei is remSodeled and Kiyomizu-zaka and Chawan-zaka are connected with the newly formed Asahi-zaka.Biki-Kobo (Pottery Experience), Café Asahi-zaka and Asahido Chawan-zaka BIKI are

Traditional Signage

This sign was designated as “traditional signage” by Kyoto City and is still on display today at Asahido Honten.

※In accordance with Article 32, Section 1 of the Ordinance regarding Outdoor Advertising, etc., in Kyoto City, Kyoto City awards outdoor advertising that has a traditional design and which contributes to the
maintenance and improvement of the appearance of Kyoto City on account of its location, size and appearance as “traditional signage.”

Heisei 22[2010]

Asahido Arashiyama opens in the Shoryuen shopping complex in Arashiyama.

Heisei 25[2013]

Café Asahi-zaka inside Asahido Honten is remodeled and opened as Saryo Kiraku.

Heisei 26[2014]

The pottery salon in Asahido Honten is refurbished.

Heisei 27[2015]

Local SAKE and BEER Stand 336 is opened at the junction of Chawan-zaka and Gojo-zaka.

Heisei 30[2018]

Saryo Seihantei is refurbished and opened as Otowa Saryo.

Reiwa 1[2019]

Saryo Kiraku is refurbished.

Reiwa 2[2020]

Asahido celebrated its 150th anniversary.

Reiwa 4[2022]

Renewal opening of Saryo Kiraku.